Bangor City Hall
73 Harlow Street, Bangor, ME 04401


Business Hours:
Monday - Friday
8:00AM - 4:30PM
Home > Bangor News

Bangor News

11/15/2018 - Bangor City Council Chooses Sarah Nichols as Council Chair

For Immediate Release

November 15, 2018


Contact:          Zeth Lundy, Public Information Coordinator

                        (207) 992-4268




Bangor City Council Chooses Sarah Nichols as Council Chair


BANGOR, MAINE – Bangor City Council unanimously voted for Sarah Nichols as its new Council Chair at a regular City Council meeting held on Wednesday, November 14, 2018. She is the youngest council member to serve as Council Chair for the City of Bangor.


Earlier in the day, Nichols was sworn onto the council for her second consecutive term along with returning Councilor David Nealley and new Councilor Gretchen Schaefer. At the November 6, 2018 election, Nichols received 6,407 votes; Nealley received 4,515 votes; and Schaefer received 3,480 votes.


Bangor City Council is composed of nine individuals elected at-large on a non-partisan basis, and is the governing body of the City responsible for establishing overall policy, adopting an annual budget, and providing general oversight to the City’s operations. Councilors are elected to three-year terms with three positions on the Council up for election each year in November. The Council Chair serves as Mayor and represents the City at ceremonial events and in its interactions with State and Federal governments.




The City of Bangor, Maine is a service center community of 33,039 residents and is the county seat of Penobscot County. Bangor is the major commercial and cultural center for much of northern and eastern Maine. The City is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. For information on City projects and news, see